Least Encouraging Scripture About Marriage

Well, I’m guessing that got you attention.  So here is that verse…..”But those who marry will face many troubles in this life.”  That happens to be right in the middle of 1 Corinthians 7:28.  Not really the scriptures that you see on wedding cakes, wedding invitations or greeting cards.  However, it is true.  There is no such thing as a trouble free marriage.  Any time you put two people together for any period of time, there is bound to be trouble.  That old adage opposites attract is so very true.  People almost never pick someone just like them to be their spouse.  Those very things that first attracted us to each can become the very things that later cause division (trouble) in our marriage.  Before you jump ship or start to feel like I have just sentenced you to walk the plank, think about the passage in Proverbs 27:17 that says “as iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.”  The same differences that divide us can be the very thing that also grows us in our character and in our relationship with God.  When you begin to pray for your spouse in the areas that  cause division with an open heart, God will begin to show the beauty of your spouse in that very area.  When you approach God from the point of wanting to see the beauty in your spouse in every area of their personality, traits, and habits you change the perspective of the things that make you crazy to something that is beautiful and wonderful.  I want to encourage you today to pray for your spouse daily, ask God to show the beauty in the things that you see as weakness or faults.  What we see as weakness, God sees as strength.  I just want to leave you with the passage in 2 Corinthians 12:9-11

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Have a great day.  Love your spouse and see their differences as strengths.

 

 

1 thought on “Least Encouraging Scripture About Marriage

  1. Hello there, I discovered your website by way of Google at the same
    time as looking for a similar topic, your
    site came up, it appears good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply turned into alert to your blog thru Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you happen to proceed this in future. Many other folks will be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a comment