Completely Hidden in Christ

Screen Shot 2012-12-30 at 6.17.53 AMAs 2012 comes to an end, I find myself being pushed or maybe better drawn to a recurring theme.  I want to be closer to God than ever before.  In doing that I know I will find the most amazing life with purpose and destiny I could ever imagine.  Having said all that I am confident at the end of 2013 I will find myself with the same desire.  Only at that time it will be said from a place further down the road of intimacy with God.  Many of the Scriptures that I have read lately have all been saying this very thing.  Here are a few of them.

Dwell in Me, and I will dwell in you. [Live in Me, and I will live in you.] Just as no branch can bear fruit of itself without abiding in (being vitally united to) the vine, neither can you bear fruit unless you abide in Me.  John 15:4 AMP

 For we are God’s [own] handiwork (His workmanship), recreated in Christ Jesus, [born anew] that we may do those good works which God predestined (planned beforehand) for us [taking paths which He prepared ahead of time], that we should walk in them [living the good life which He prearranged and made ready for us to live]. John 2:10 AMP

Seek the Lord [inquire for Him, inquire of Him, and require Him as the foremost necessity of your life], all you humble of the land who have acted in compliance with His revealed will and have kept His commandments; seek righteousness, seek humility [inquire for them, require them as vital]. It may be you will be hidden in the day of the Lord’s anger. Zephaniah 2:3 AMP

This recent journey started when I was listening to Marilyn Hickey speak on TV.  While there may be many of you who do not know who she is, I do.  You see in 1987 during a very hard time in my life financially, I moved to Loveland, Colorado from Clinton, OK.  While I was there I found a church called Resurrection Fellowship.  This was the first time I had ever been in a Non-Denominational Charismatic church.  Having come from a strong Southern Baptist background and being married at that time to a man with a strong Church of Christ background, traditional religion was really all I knew.  This 3 month adventure to Colorado not only brought me to a place of learning about the difference between relationship and religion but it also brought me to the place of seeing and hearing Marilyn Hickey for the first time.  I always say God needed to take me to Colorado for 3 months so I could really find him.  It was in one of the hardest times in my life that I found the most beautiful thing in my life that has endured to this day and that was a REAL RELATIONSHIP with a loving, caring, personal God.  From that day to this my relationship with him has grown and matured as it will continue to do until I find myself with him in eternity.  For that I am completely grateful.

Jump back to the present…..In one of the devotionals I use (given to me by a wonderful friend, Jane Zahasky Screen Shot 2012-12-30 at 5.54.14 AM and yes she is as fun and vivacious as she looks in this picture) Jesus Calling by Sarah Young today’s journal entry said:

“I am leading you along a way that is uniquely right for you.  The closer to Me you grow, the more fully you become your true self-the one I designed you to be.  Because you are one of a kind, the path you are traveling with Me diverges increasingly from that of other people.  However, in My mysterious wisdom and ways, I enable you to follow the solitary path while staying in close contact with others.  In fact, the more completely you devote yourself to Me, the more freely you can love people.

Marvel at the beauty of a life intertwined with My Presence.  Rejoice as we journey together in intimate communion.  Enjoy the adventure of finding yourself through losing yourself in me.”   

I am struck that the more I follow after God, the more I lose myself in Him, the more I will find the greatest adventure of my life.  As I look back over the past 50 years I am struck at how many ways God has directed my steps and led me to places that would not only impact that present moment but would set me up for something even greater down the road.  How what may seem at the moment like the hardest time of my life would later become the secret key to unlock something precious and beautiful many years in the future.

How you ask does this thought process connect to marriage?  Well, when we follow after God when we live a life intertwined in His Presence in our marriages we will find that His path for our marriages will become something beautiful.  Case in point, a few months ago I decided to change the name of my blog to God Adventures in Marriage.  This simple God prompted change perfectly describes what God has planned for all of our marriages if we chose to take His path and Marvel at the beauty of a life intertwined with My Presence.  Rejoice as we journey together in intimate communion.  Enjoy the adventure of finding yourself through losing yourself in Him.”   

  

Leave a Reply

