Life Lessons

First, let me just say I realize it has been a long time since I have written a new post.  I have been spending my life doing a lot of things and the blog has suffered.  I hope this changes.  So I say to myself and to you, my readers, “Welcome Back.”

As of May 3, 2012, I have had the privilege of being married to the most wonderful man ever.   Truly these past nine years have been amazing.  This doesn’t mean event free, but amazing none the less.  The beginning of year nine has brought some pretty exciting opportunities.  God placed in our hearts a desire to do Marriage and Relationship ministry very early on in our relationship.  We have been pursuing that for a long time.  By pursuing I mean leading Marriage and Relationship Small Groups and some Couple’s Ministry at our church, but I also mean learning about marriage and relationship from a participant vantage.  We have walked through many things that cause stress and pressure in a relationship and have come through them with lots of experience as well as many battle scars.  So having this experience, we are now in the process of writing a book on the subject.  This has been quite different from what I had originally envisioned it to be.  Somehow I had let myself believe that this would be an easy and smooth project….maybe not.  We have many times found ourselves in complete opposition when it comes to how to write each chapter, what to put in it, and even when it should be completed.  However, we have managed at each turn to find the common ground and proceed in unity.  Just this morning we were working on the book, well, Steven was working on the book and I wanted to offer my perspective.  It was not received nearly as enthusiastically as I has hoped.  Due to my mis-communication of the point it came across as critical.  Totally not what I had intended.  However, it did give me the opportunity to reexamine how I phrase things.  So after some discussion and forgiveness, we moved forward again in unity.  I’m sure that there will be additional opportunities for us to practice the techniques and strategies our book will contain.      Each one will allow us to provide more insight in the art of Marriage and Relationship.  So with that in mind, I am grateful for the challenges our relationship faces as we continue to work together on the book because I know they will make our book even better.

3 thoughts on “Life Lessons

Leave a Reply

