Oh! That Again???

I just wanted to take a few minutes and share with you the conversation I had with my super, amazing husband, Steven this morning.  I am in the process of reading through the Bible in year.  Each day I read a portion from the old testament, new testament, Psalm, and Proverbs.  Also, Steven and I are studying the book of Acts in the Bible Study we do each morning together.  I came to the realization this morning that there is a recurring theme throughout the entire Bible.  I am amazed at how many times, as Christians, we are warned, encouraged, and admonished by God to stay faithful, follow God’s commands, and to not let anything in our lives take the place of God. In spite of all these warnings and encouragement, generation after generation we continue to do the things God has told us not to do.

A few years ago I was visiting a church in Hinton with my parents on Easter.  The sermon that day was from Matthew 7:13-14

 13 “Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. 14 For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.

After the sermon, I was very surprised that the pastor had chosen such a “discouraging” sermon topic for the day of the largest crowds in the Christian community.  After all, wouldn’t it have been better to tell the members/visitors of the church that day all about how good God is and how coming to Christ is such a blessing, both of which are true.  I must confess that in the years that followed, Steven and I have often joked about the poor choice of sermon topics.  Well, today I really began to be convicted about all the times we has joked about the sermon choice, and how arrogant we had been in second guessing the pastors ability to prepare an appropriate sermon.  In light of the recurring theme throughout the Bible, I feel like I must repent.  You see too often I think we have watered down the Bible to make people feel better about their low commitment level to the a very committed God.  God thinks that our very committed life is so important that He continue time and time again to remind us to maintain a high level of commitment.  So why then do we walk away from that commitment so easily?  A review of my life bears witness to the fact that during the times I have been diligent to maintain my strong commitment to God’s commands and way of living my life (choosing the narrow path) has indeed been much better than the times that I have chosen to go it on my own (choosing the wide path).  So my question to you today is, which path are you choosing and what are the results of that choice?  If you have been choosing the wide path let me join the many people God spoke through.  Choose to follow God’s commands and don’t allow anything to come between you and a loving, committed, faithful God.  Your life will be much better on the narrow path.  Be one of the “few”.

Leave a Reply

