Steps 1, 2, & 3 to Joy

It’s still early in the morning but I have already had 3 conversations with different people who have been struggling with keeping joy in their lives.  The truth is, that loss of joy really is a part of so many people’s lives.  I must admit I used to have more struggles with this than I do now.  Thanks in part to a devotional that my AMAZING and WONDERFUL husband gave several months ago.  Here is a picture of the love of my life.  Steven is one of the biggest blessings God has given me.  So today I just want to share with you Steven’s devotional.  I like to call it “Steps 1, 2, & 3 to Joy.”

Step 1:  The Bible says in Psalm 22:3

But thou art holy, O thou that inhabitest the praises of Israel. (KJV)

God is with us all the time but I love the picture that we get when David says that God inhabits our praises.  I also want to share with you how the Amplified  version of the Bible puts it:

But You are holy, O You Who dwell in [the holy place where] the praises of Israel [are offered].

So when we begin to praise God, He is with us.  Think about it, if someone was praising you, wouldn’t you want to be in their presence?

Step 2:  Being in the presence of God brings fullness of Joy.  The Bible says in Psalm 16:11

You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy, at Your right hand there are pleasures forevermore.

Who doesn’t want fullness of Joy?  I do but at times it seems like my joy level gets depleted.  So the secret to fullness of joy is being in the presence of God.

Step 3:  The Joy of the Lord is my strength.  In Nehemiah 8:10 the Bible shows us that we are strengthened by joy.

for the joy of the LORD is your strength.

So by remembering these 3 steps we can keep our joy levels high and really enjoy the life that God designed for us to live.

Leave a Reply

