New Year New Vision

It has been a long time since I posted.  Some how after leaving Africa my life got crazy busy.  Busyness is a disease that plagues most people today.  In my neck of the woods if you asked 20 people if they were too busy, my guess would be that at least 85 percent of them would say yes.  Why have we become a society of busy people?  When I was in Africa we got the opportunity to practice “the ruthless elimination of hurry” on a pretty regular basis.  It seemed that no one was in a hurry there.  The odd thing (compared to the US) is that everything still got done and world seemed to continue to spin in orbit.  I think this is something we can learn from our African brothers and sisters.  So as I approach 2012, I have a new vision to practice “the ruthless elimination of hurry” more.  I plan to be more intentional about being present in the moment.  I plan to be more intentional about really listening when people talk to me, instead of half listening while I plan ten other things in my head. Just as an example, my daughter once told me that when I was at church (where I work by the way), she felt like when I was talking to her, I was always looking over her shoulder to see who else I needed to talk too.  What a great example of being too busy.  I plan to turn off the computer more and enjoy the beautiful world that God created for me.  I plan to take time every day just to sit quietly and think.  I consider these things a big investment in myself and the people in my life.  I challenge you to take a look at your life and get a vision for ways that you can “ruthlessly eliminate hurry” in 2012.

Leave a Reply

