Every Day is a New Day

Lesson #???? (well I have learned at lot of lessons on this trip).  Lesson for today is “Everyday is a New Day.”  Today I went to the BDS shelter and started painting again but an hour into the painting I was picked up and whisked off to Victory Maseru.  I met with the Zone Pastors and taught them about Small Groups.  They were very excited about making some changes in the they way the do groups and hoping to be able to increase the participation in Small Groups at their campus.  Then I joined Pastor Jacque in a meeting with Pastor Wilson (an associate pastor at Victory Maseru).  I learned a lot from both of them.  It was a very good day.  It got me started thinking about how God knows where He is taking us (if we chose to follow Him) long before we get to where we are going.  I had no idea a little over 2 years ago that I would not only be the Small Groups Director at Victory OKC but that I would be in Maseru, Lesotho and teaching pastors here about Small Groups.  However, in retrospect I can see how God used all the things in the past few years to get me to just this place.  Make no mistake at any time along the way I could have chosen not to follow the leading of the Holy Spirit and found myself a long way away from where I am today.  It is amazing to me just how much God has accomplished in my life in the past few years.  WOW!!!!  The beautiful thing is God has a great plan for your life too and if you will follow the leading of the Holy Spirit you can enjoy your own God Adventure.  Give it a try, I promise you won’t be sorry.

After a long day of working with the pastoral staff at Victory Maseru, I joined several members of our team to head out to an Indian restaurant that came highly recommended by Pastor Jennifer as the “best place to eat in Maseru”.  The food was good but the experience was no where short of being called an adventure.  We arrived at the restaurant (I can’t recall the name of the place) just to find out that the electricity was out.  This apparently is not all that uncommon here.  They assured us that no power was not a problem they cook with gas and so we could get food.  We chose to eat out on the balcony which was beautiful.  Oh, and it had daylight so we could see what we were eating.  After perusing the menu and asking a lot of questions which were answered by the waitstaff (never mind the fact that I couldn’t understand a word he said and someone at the table to translate everything) we chose our food.  I really didn’t recognize anything on the menu but I gave it my best attempt.  After sitting for a while the waiter came back and and informed us that half of the things we ordered could not be served because they were fried and well….yep you guessed the power was out and they couldn’t fry.  So we reordered different items.  Then they brought the food out for each of us separately all being spaced several minutes apart.  So much for the whole eating together idea….nope not here.  I have learned that in Africa they embrace the “ruthless elimination of hurry”.  I am struggling to make that mental shift.  Just as about half of us had our food and the sun was going down, they informed us that we would need to move to a different table on the balcony so we could see from the the one light that worked in the restaurant.  So we picked up our food and moved tables.  Shortly after we changed tables the power came back on. So things were well lit for us.  Then after eating and enjoying some pretty great company we were ready to pay for our food and “all the power” went out.  So I don’t know but I think getting the cash register open must have been a problem because paying for our meal took nearly as long as getting our meal.  Yep we ruthlessly eliminated hurry once again.  Practice makes perfect or so they say.  All in all dinner was an adventure and the conversation was filled with laughter and great stories.  Wow you can learn a lot about people when you take your time and have a meal with them. Everything from getting speeding tickets in Africa (way to go Chase apparently 180 km/hr is too fast) to taking sonic cups to missionaries in Nicaragua and that’s just the beginning of what I learned about the people on my team.  However, I must admit there are still a lot of questions I have not gotten an answer too.  For instance, why do the cows here wear collars and have leashes?  Why do they tie blocks of 2×4 with nails sticking out the top of them to the heads of the cows.  Just to name a few.  I have found answers to some questions.  Nope there are no camels or elephants in this part of Africa.  All of Africa is not a desert.  People while very different have a lot in common no matter where they live.  Oh yeah, and dogs in Africa like to dig up dead animals just like dogs in America….thank you Mr. Winky for stinking up the place.

Leave a Reply

