Planning Ahead

As the time approaches for my first mission trip to Africa, I find myself thinking that I should be doing some planning.  I actually leave in ten days (if you count today) and I haven’t really done too much planning.  Well, I have done a lot of planning at work but when it comes to packing and buying things I need for my trip, I have a mental plan but that is about all.  I have a good friend, Mary, who would have ten lists made and her suitcases open and partially packed by now.  She would have a mental list of everything that goes in her suitcase and what the packing order will look like.  Well, I’m just not that girl.  My mother, who is with Jesus now, had a sign in her kitchen that said,”Don’t rush me I’m waiting until the last-minute.”  This can sometimes be the theme of my life as well.  Take heart, I will have everything in place by the time I leave for the airport.  I guess, however, it’s probably time to put the plan into action.

The good news is that the God we serve is a God of planning.  The Bible says in the very familiar scripture, Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

It gives me peace to know that God has a good plan for my future.  In fact He has the perfect plan for my life.  All I have to do is walk out that plan.  Walking out the plan is sometimes where things get hard.  Sometimes it seems like the good plan God has for me is a big secret or it’s like trying to find a needle in a hay stack.  That’s not really true, the good news is that God’s plan is given to us through His word.  If we will take the Bible and read it as a guide-book or plan for our own lives then we will know what God wants us to do.  Not only has God left the Bible for us, He has sent us a guide in the form of the Holy Spirit. In John 14:26 Jesus tells us about that guide.

“But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, who the Father will send in my name, He will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you.”

So as you do life everyday, read the plan, listen to the Holy Spirit as He guides you and enjoy the God Adventure.


Leave a Reply

